The Great Purge Has Begun

This week I started going through my closet because it was packed full of clothes, at least 80% of which either don’t fit, haven’t been stylish for a long time, or are stained.  We had an issue with our washing machine awhile back and tons of our clothes ended up with stains.  Some of them eventually washed out after many washings but there were a few pieces I have held onto for years and hopefully threw into the washer on occasion only to be disappointed when they came out still stained.

I love being a mom but my life is different now.  I simply don’t have the time to stand in front of my closet for 20 minutes each morning looking through tons of clothes that just don’t work for me anymore.  My little boy is a pretty good sleeper but he also has a good internal alarm clock which usually gets him about about 20 minutes before I would otherwise wake him each day.  Since I’m now getting ready with a baby crying for my attention it’s time to do something about my mess of a closet!  I’ve already purged about half the items that need to go, the rest I will hopefully get to this weekend.

But now the hard part begins.  I have to rebuild my closet on a very limited budget now that baby boy is eating up all our discretionary income (and then some!).  I have tried rebuilding my wardrobe in the past but stores have such a terrible selection of plus sized clothing and I get super overwhelmed with choices online so I usually just give up after a few days of not being able to decided.

I did find three shirts this week which I am excited about (two of them are below).  I think I’m also going to try some leggings or jeggings for the first time.  Well the first time since I was about seven which is the last time leggings were cool!  Haha.

It’s felt nice doing something for myself for once.  I’m kind of sick of being “that mom” running around in sweat pants with greasy hair.  I wouldn’t trade Theodore for anything in the world but I’m definitely experiencing whole new levels of exhaustion.

One thought on “The Great Purge Has Begun

Leave a Reply

