The Registry Low-Down

I can’t believe how many people I’ve met in the IF community have finally gotten their BFPs lately!  I’m so excited for them and wanted to share a few baby items that we loved since making a baby registry can be daunting, even if you’ve been planning it for years, trust me!

  1. If you like sleep, like even a tiny bit, swaddle blankets are where it’s at!  We bought both the blanket type and the velcro type.  For our baby the velcro type worked best it seemed like they were capable of swaddling tighter which our baby needed as he fought it quite a bit those first few weeks (now he loves it and puts his arms down for us right away).  He was a winter baby so we had a couple Halo Microfleece swaddles in a small size and now that it’s getting warmer we bought him a couple Summer Infant cotton swaddles.  They aren’t cheap but for us they were worth their weight in gold!
  2. We have a two story home and the bedrooms are upstairs so we love our Diaper Genie.  It’s much nicer to only have to run dirty diapers to the outside trash once a week or so.  The more expensive version has a foot peddle which can be convenient but the cheaper version, the Playtex Diaper Genie Essentials Pail, is actually much better as containing the smell, which is the whole point.  

     

  3. When I was pregnant I kept hearing babies usually either love the swing or the bouncer.  We registered and received both.  Our baby greatly preferred his swing and was useful for his more challenging days.  Yes, I felt like a lazy mom sometimes but 1) he loved it so much! and 2) on occasion he was inconsolable by anything else.  We loved this Fisher Price Cradle ‘n’ Swing – My Little Lamb.  My son LOVED the mobile with lights on this one.g6
  4. Before Theodore was born I really thought we’d only use a Pack ‘n’ Play when we visited family but since both of our parents live 5-6 hours away we knew we would need one for sure.  It turns out this is one piece of baby gear we literally use every single day.  Ours has a bassinet that flips over to a changing station.  Both come in very handy and we have it set up in our living room.  We really liked his Graco Pack ‘n’ Play Playard Portable Napper and Changer but there are plenty useful versions.g7
  5. I originally got the Boppy because I thought I would be breastfeeding.  I wasn’t able to breastfeed because of supply issues but I still use my Boppy to more comfortably position my baby for feeding.  There are other brands of breastfeeding pillows that are probably just as good but I’d definitely recommend some type of feeding pillow.g5
  6.  We tried to live without a humidifier but our baby’s skin was so incredibly dry without it.  I can’t speak for others humidifiers but this Crane Cool Mist Humidifier works well and is so quiet!
  7. NoseFridas are kind of gross.  You literally suck the snot out of their little nose but it works, unlike those crappy bulbs, and when you’re kid is sick you’re pretty much willing to do anything you can to make him or her feel better.
  8. The Phillips Avent Soothie pacifiers were the kind our hospital (and I think most hospitals) use.  He liked it so we bought a few more.  I wasn’t overly keen on the idea of pacifiers but it’s easier to take away a pacifier when it’s time than it is a thumb.  
  9. If you’re planning on bottle feeding some sort of bottle drying rack is essential we liked this one by Muchkin.  If you’re planning on pumping I’ve heard the Boon Drying Grass works well for drying pump parts.
  10. Also, at some point you will need some diaper rash cream.  Some people use it every time they change a diaper.  We liked this Burt’s Bee Diaper Rash Cream.  It works and it smells really good, the downside is it’s kind of expensive but our first tube has lasted us 3 months.

     

  11. Lastly, an infant car seat.  Yes, you will need a convertible car seat at some point and could, technically, skip the infant seat step but they are so much more convenient!  It’s nice to be able to situate the baby inside when it’s raining or cold out.  It’s also nice to hold the baby when at a store or restaurant.  We got this Graco Click Connect 35 for my car and a convertible seat for my husband’s car.  About twice a week we kick ourselves for not just biting the bullet and purchasing a second base for the infant seat for his car since it’s larger and more comfortable when we are all going someplace.
    g13

One thing I realized when I was registering was every place wants you to buy as much as you can so they often recommend way more than you really need of things.  For example, a lot of places recommend 3-5 sets of sheets and 2-3 mattress protectors.  I bought 3 sets of sheets and 2 would have been plenty.  We have one mattress protector and haven’t had any issues with not having enough.  Also babies shouldn’t sleep with a blanket until they are over a year old so you don’t NEED a whole bedding set.  We chose to get one anyway because it matched everything else we bought and we didn’t want to have to try to find something that matched later on.  

Lastly, if you’re bottle feeding, and likely you’ll have to at some point, even if it’s just once in a blue moon, don’t get overly attached to a brand of bottles before your child is born.  We bought bottles and extra nipples in higher flows for when he gets older.  He liked any bottle just fine but they leaked terribly and his stomach seemed more upset by them then it does with his new bottles.  Currently we use Dr. Browns Options bottles.  They also leak a little but it has really helped his tummy.

If there is anything you’re on the fence about and want to ask if it was helpful for our baby feel free!  Or if you want to add something you thought was amazing and other moms should know about!
2 thoughts on “The Registry Low-Down

  1. mythrifthaunt says:

    I use Dr Brown too! I’m thinking of getting the pitcher since my son is getting bigger/older. I also recently started using mommy bliss gripe water. I told my ped and since I’m not using the full dose recommended, she said it is safe to use. It has really helped with his tummy trouble and he is eating more.

    • ourmaybebaby says:

      I wanted the pitcher but my husband didn’t like the idea especially since our son will only drink very warm milk and when he’s hungry there is no waiting for it! I’ve heard gripe water is amazing for some babies mine hated the taste 😦 I think some people dilute it with formula or bottled breastmilk. I always wondered if it still worked that way.

Leave a Reply

